The Tibetan Youth Congress (TYC) is a worldwide Organisation of Tibetans united in our common struggle for the restoration of complete independence for the whole of Tibet, which includes the tradition three provinces of U-Tsang, Do-toe, and Do-med. An independent Organisation, with a written constitution and its own plans and programmes, TYC has emerged as the largest and most active non-governmental Organisation of Tibetans in exile. It has more than 30,000 members worldwide.

TYC does not subscribe to any particular political ideology nor to any particular religion or religious” sect. Being a national movement, activities of TYC is not restricted just to its members, but. also receive the active support of all Tibetans – young and old, men and women, monks and lay, Furthermore, TYC commands a targe following inside Tibet. TYC was founded on October 7, 1970 in Dharamsala with His Holiness the Dalai Lama delivering the inaugural address. The founding of TYC in 1970 came at a time when the first group of young Tibetans who had received a balanced modern and traditional education were graduating from schools and colleges. This strengthened the Tibetan people’s struggle for independence and ensured its continuity.

The founding members of TYC were: Tenzin Geyche Tethong, Lodi G. Gyari, Sonam Topgyal and Tenzin N. Tethong. Tenzin Geyche Tethong was the first President.

From its very inception TYC emerged as an active force with clear aims and objectives. It also served as a catalyst to bring out certain reforms and changes within the Tibetan community so as to enhance the development of truly democratic society. TYC therefore, sees itself as an instrument

Current Centrex Members

Gonpo Dhondup


Tashi Dhargyal

Vice President

Sonam Tsering

General Secretary

Tsering Chomphel

Joint Secretary

Yeshi Chomphel

Organizational Secretary


Information Secretary
Back To Top